Local ACSA chapter recognizes 18 Orange County educational leaders for excellence

ACSA logo

The local Association of California School Administrators chapter unveiled its list of 18 exemplary educational leaders on March 24. 

Established in 1971, ACSA serves more than 17,000 California educators and annually spotlights top administrators and friends of education at the regional and state levels. 

ACSA’s Region 17 will recognize this year’s honorees in person at the annual Celebration of Excellence banquet dinner on May 8. Held at the Irvine Marriott, each person will be invited to the stage to accept glass trophies and share a few remarks in front of their peers. 

Here’s the full list of the 2023 Administrators of the Year and Friends of Education for Region 17: 

Robert Pletka, Ed.D., Fullerton School District

Secondary Principal
Laura Rubio, Ed.D., Fullerton Joint Union High School District

Middle Grades Principal
Christa Glembocki, Huntington Beach City School District

Elementary Principal
Kathy Martin, Saddleback Valley Unified School District

Central Office Administrator
Christopher Michael Knowland Jr., Los Alamitos Unified School District

Secondary Co-Administrator
Monica Luther, Ed.D., Orange Unified School District

Elementary Co-Administrator
Agnes Vasquez, Tustin Unified School District

Classified Champion of the Year
Gabriel Camberos, Santa Ana Unified School District

Personnel/HR Administrator
Chad Hammitt, Ed.D., Fullerton School District

Career Technical Education Administrator
Don Isbell, Santa Ana Unified School District 

Special Education Administrator
Sue Singh, Ed.D., Orange Unified School District

Business Services Administrator
Scott Martin, Centralia School District

Student Services Administrator
Elsie Briseno Simonoski, Ph.D., Buena Park School District

Curriculum & Instruction Administrator
Julienne Lee, Ed.D., Fullerton School District

Continuation/Educational Options Administrators
Jose Lara, Anaheim Union High School District

Professor of Education
Marilou Ryder, Ed.D., University of Massachusetts Global

Tracy Gaffey Award

Technology Administrator
Michael Morrison, Laguna Beach Unified School District

Valuing Diversity Award
Sonia Rodarte Llamas, Ed.D., Santa Ana Unified School District