Newport-Mesa USD principal receives national leadership award

Davis Magnet School Principal Christy Flores (center) was honored with the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership on Nov. 4 at the National Blue Ribbon Schools ceremony in Oxon Hill, Maryland.

A principal in the Newport-Mesa School District is one of eight school leaders to receive a prestigious educational leadership award from the U.S. Department of Education.

Christy Flores, principal at Davis Magnet School, was recently selected to receive the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership. The national award honors “school leaders who are committed to education as a powerful and liberating force in people’s lives.” The award is part of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program and principals are nominated by their school communities during the final stages of the application process.

U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel A. Cardona had this to say about this year’s honorees.

“Bell awardees are truly extraordinary leaders. Being chosen for this distinction puts school leaders in special company. As a former principal, I know how much time and energy school leaders devote to caring for their school communities and preparing students for success. Over the last 18 months, in the face of unprecedented circumstances, these school leaders have found creative ways to protect, nurture, and engage children, families, and school staff. Bell awardees have worked tirelessly, investing every ounce of their energy and expertise in their schools and students. Congratulations on this special recognition.”

Since 2013, Flores has cultivated a strong sense of community at Davis Magnet School and leads the school community toward academic success through multi-tiered levels of support and outstanding instruction, the district said in a statement.

“Congratulations to Ms. Flores on her transformative leadership at Davis Elementary,” said NMUSD Superintendent Wesley Smith. “Her commitment to students, staff and the community demonstrate the life-changing power of education.”

As we’ve previously mentioned, Davis Magnet School, along with seven other OC campuses, was selected earlier this year as a 2021 National Blue Ribbon School. Flores and the seven other Bell award recipients were honored at the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony on Nov. 4 at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in Oxon Hill, Maryland.

Additional information about the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program and the Terrel H. Bell Awards can be found on the U.S Department of Education website.