Finalists announced for the 2016 Innovation in Education Awards

Project Tomorrow Innovation in Education logoCharting new paths in education, finalists have been announced for the 2016 Innovation in Education Awards.

Presented by Project Tomorrow and the Orange County Technology Alliance, and sponsored by the Orange County Department of Education, the award has been recognizing outstanding education programs, educators and students for their innovative uses of science, math and technology for the past 10 years.

Finalists for this year’s awards are:

Innovative School-Wide Program of the Year in Science, Math & Technology, distinguishing a public, private, or parochial school that demonstrates innovation with an outstanding, results-based school-wide program. (Award winner will receive $1,000.)

  • Tracy Barquer, principal of Tustin Ranch Elementary in the Tustin Unified School District, Rocky’s Creativity Den
  • Dr. Michael Pratt, principal of St. John’s Episcopal, St. John’s STEAM Program
  • Dennis Cole, principal of Mendez Fundamental Intermediate School in the Santa Ana Unified School District, Mendez GATE Symposium

High Impact Teacher of the Year in Science, Math & Technology, acknowledging the influence of a great teacher in his/her use of science, math or technology to significantly impact student academic achievement. (Award winner will receive $1,000.)

  • Suzy Hardy of St. John’s Episcopal School
  • Stacy Kline of Spurgeon Intermediate School in the Santa Ana Unified School District
  • Scott Rosenkranz of Sunny Hills High School in the Fullerton Joint Union High School District

Emerging Student Innovator of the Year in Science, Math & Technology, recognizing high school students who are creatively using science, math and technology resources to solve a school or community problem. (Award winner will receive a $1,500 scholarship.)

  • Shalin Shah, a senior at Tesoro High School in the Capistrano Unified School District
  • Brandon Rossano and Eric Baker, seniors at Tustin High School in the Tustin Unified School District
  • Remington Wedin, a senior at Brea Olinda High School in the Brea Olinda Unified School District

The 2016 Innovation in Education Award recipients will be announced at the 23rd Annual High-Tech Innovation Awards Dinner on Thursday, Oct. 6 at the Westin South Coast Plaza in Costa Mesa.

More information about the awards, including past recipients, can be found here.